Members of the 14th National Assembly Standing Committee (Source: VNA)
Hanoi (VNA) – Leading positions of the 14th National Assembly were named on July 22 during the legislative body’s first session following the secret ballot conducted one day earlier.

With 97.77 percent of “yes” votes, Chairwoman of the 13th National Assembly Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan was re-elected as the head of the 14th legislature.

The NA Vice Chair position belongs to Phung Quoc Hien, Uong Chu Luu, Tong Thi Phong, and Do Ba Ty, who were all Vice Chairpersons of the 13th National Assembly.

The results of the voting also revealed the 13 members of the 14th National Assembly Standing Committee.

Lawmakers on July 22 approved resolutions on the election of the Chair and Vice Chairs, and members of the Standing Committee of the 14th National Assembly.

NA Chairwoman Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan delivered reports on proposed personnel for the positions of the Chair of the NA Ethnic Council, the NA Secretary General, the State Auditor General and the heads of the NA committees.

Specifically, Ha Ngoc Chien, member of the Party Central Committee, and member of the Standing Committee of the 14th NA was introduced as a candidate for the Chair of the 14th NA Ethnic Council.

Nguyen Hanh Phuc, Secretary General of the 13th NA, was proposed for the 14th NA General Secretary post.

Ho Duc Phoc, who is State Auditor General, was introduced to continue holding the position for 2016-2021.

In the afternoon, the NA is scheduled to hold a ballot for these proposed positions.-VNA