10th CLV Development Triangle Area Summit held in Hanoi hinh anh 1At the 10th CLV Development Triangle Area Summit (Photo: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) -
The 10th Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam Summit on Development Triangle Area (CLV-10) took place in Hanoi on March 31 to review the outcomes of trilateral cooperation programmes over the past time and map out development orientations in the next period.

The event saw the participation of Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Cambodian Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen, Lao Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith, President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) Takehiko Nakao, Managing Director of the World Bank (WB) Joanquim Levy, and Secretary-General of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Lim Jock Hoi.

Prime Minister Ngyen Xuan Phuc said the three countries have carried out special cooperation programmes, focusing on socio-economic development in the development triangle area covering 13 border provinces.

The trio has reaped positive cooperation outcomes from security and politics to economy, trade and education, thus narrowing development gaps among localities, he said.

Particularly, Vietnamese businesses have invested in 113 projects worth 3.59 billion USD in Lao and Cambodian provinces, the PM noted.

Five Vietnamese provinces in the development triangle area have attracted 233 projects from 20 countries and territories with a total registered capital of 2.3 billion USD, he said.

The outcomes were attributed to the endeavours of the three countries as well as the valuable support from ASEAN and development partners, especially ADB and WB.
10th CLV Development Triangle Area Summit held in Hanoi hinh anh 2Delegates take photo at the event (Photo: VNA)

The CLV-10 discussed new policies to boost regional cooperation in a more effective and pragmatic manner.

The success of the event will contribute significantly to the realisation of the ASEAN Community Vision through 2025, the PM said.

The CLV Development Triangle Area was established in 1999, covering Vietnam’s Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong provinces; Laos’ Sekong, Attapeu and Saravan provinces; and Cambodia’s Stung Treng, Rattanak Kiri, and Mondul Kiri.

In 2009, the three countries agreed to add Vietnam’s Binh Phuoc province, Cambodia’s Kratie province, and Laos’ Champasak province to the area. Its cooperation focuses on the fields of security, external affairs, transport, industry, agriculture, trade, investment and environmental protection.-VNA