Senior officials from Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand and Myanmar gathered for a Ministerial Retreat Meeting on the Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS) Tourism Cooperation in Ho Chi Minh City on September 10.

The tourism ministers of Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, Myanmar’s Deputy Minister of Tourism and the Thai Ambassador to Vietnam participated in the retreat, together with leaders of the four Mekong city destinations of Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam, Phnom Penh in Cambodia, Yangon in Myanmar and Vientiane in Laos.

The officials agreed that in the 12 months of implementing the ACMECS joint statement on tourism cooperation, the five countries’ national tourist offices had intensified their collaboration and supported each other at international tourism fairs.

They also carried out numerous measures to facilitate trans-border tourist crossings. Cambodia and Thailand provided joint visas to tourists coming from other ACMECS countries, while low-cost carriers launched new flights to destinations in the region.

Delegates stressed the need to further boost cooperation and work towards a joint ACMECS visa zone under the slogan “Five nations - One destination”.-VNA