ASEAN Para Games: Vietnam has 39 golds on fifth day of competition hinh anh 1The Vietnamese delegation at the ASEAN Para Games 2017 (Source: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) - After five days of competition at the ASEAN Para Games 2017 in Malaysia, Vietnamese athletes have set 10 new records, four in swimming and four in weightlifting, winning 39 gold, 59 silver and 55 bronze medals to rank fourth in the overall medal tally.

On September 22, Vo Van Tung grabbed two gold medals for Vietnam.

Tung first won in the men’s F34 discus event with a throw of 26.23 metres. He overcame Davis Machang (20.99m) and Adderin (20.31m), both from the hosts.

His second gold came hours later in the javelin event as he also won over the same rivals.

Earlier, Tung secured a silver in the F32/33/34 shot put on September 20.

His teammate Truong Thi Bich Van added another gold in the women’s F55 shot put.

Van showed her outstanding performance with five out of six throws being over 6m, with the best one being 6.78m.

Htet Aye from Myanmar was second with 5.96m and Ngo Thi Lan Thanh of Vietnam was third, on 5.33m.

The last track-and-field gold of the day went to Le Van Manh who was the fastest in the men’s T37 200m track.

He finished first with a time of 25.68sec. Sakphet Saewang of Thailand and Jacklon of Malaysia received the silver and bronze, respectively.
Vietnamese athletes also pocketed three silvers and two bronzes in other classes.

[ASEAN Para Games 2017: Vietnam ranks fourth in medal tally]

The same day, the chess masters brought home the first two titles.

Pham Thi Huong won in the women’s B1 individual rapid chess while Tran Thi Bich Thuy won the women’s P1 individual rapid chess.
Their teammates pocketed four silver medals and one bronze.

Indonesia is still the table leader with 109 medals, leaving Malaysia in second place with 84 and Thailand third with 60.

Although there are events on the last day of Para Games on September 23 this would be the final ranking of the tournament.

The closing ceremony will be held on the night of September 23 at the Bukit Jalil Stadium.-VNA