All ten members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) have ratified the ASEAN Convention on Counter-Terrorism (ACCT), the ASEAN Secretariat said in a statement released on January 22.

Signed by the ASEAN leaders in 2007, the ACCT serves as a framework agreement for regional cooperation in countering, preventing and suppressing terrorism. It also enhances the region's strategic role in the global fight against terrorism.

As stipulated, the ACCT enters into force 30 days after six ASEAN member states ratify and then submit it to the ASEAN Secretariat.

Brunei became the sixth country to ratify the ACCT on April 28, 2011, making the ACCT effective on May 27, 2011. Malaysia was the last one to approve the convention on January 11, 2013.

With all member states aboard the ACCT, ASEAN has taken another important step in fulfilling the ASEAN Political and Security Blueprint in order to make ASEAN a safer and more secure region for everyone.-VNA