The 18 th ASEAN Summit opened in Jakarta on May 7 with the participation of ASEAN Secretary General Surin Pitsuwan and State and government leaders from 10 member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung leads the Vietnamese delegation to the summit.

Addressing at the opening ceremony, Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono affirmed "ASEAN can't be silent and do nothing," in the face of natural disasters and conflicts, highlighting the need to enhance a multi-dimensional cooperation both internally among ASEAN members and cooperation with dialogue partners as well as with countries from other regions.

He called on all member countries to exert efforts to ensure concrete progress in realising the idea on the “ASEAN Community in a Global Community of Nations”, which is also the theme of this year’s summit.

During the two-day of sitting, ASEAN leaders are scheduled to discuss ASEAN integration, economic recovery, the bloc’s role in international affairs and other issues.

They are expected to adopt a statement on idea advancing to a joint statement on ASEAN Community in a Global Community of Nations at the 19 th ASEAN Summit, a statement on enhancement of cooperation to fight human trafficking in Southeast Asia and a statement on establishment of ASEAN academy on peace.

Established in 1967, ASEAN now groups Brunei , Cambodia , Indonesia , Laos , Malaysia , Myanmar , the Philippines , Singapore , Thailand and Vietnam. /.