AsiaEducationExpo 2013 has offered participants the opportunity to source and gather information on the industry’s best ideas and solutions for every stage of learning that range from instruction, performance to productivity management.

Addressing the opening ceremony in Singapore on November 20, Mdm Halimah Yacob, Speaker of Parliament of Singapore, said AEX2013 has provided the latest teaching materials, technologies and publications for representatives from all 11 Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organisation (SEAMEO) member countries, China and India to be updated on the latest teaching materials, technologies and publications.

The Parliament Speaker also congratulated the AsiaEducationExpo “for its role in providing the necessary platforms for all stakeholders so that our education system can be brought to the next level” and “being appropriate for our home grown education enterprises - both corporate and social - to promote Singapore as the springboard to the region for both business and social innovation.”

Mdm Halimah expressed her belief that Singapore could leverage on its strategic location and fulfil its aspiration to be a regional education hub.

Alongside the expo, the show also features two conferences, one for educators with the theme “Knowledge through New Eyes” and another for parents with the theme “It takes a Village to Raise a Child”.

Sphere Exhibits of Singapore Press Holdings and SEAMEO’s Regional Language Centre (RELC) will organize a conference with the theme “New Pathways to Knowledge in Asia Today” on November 21. The RELC-led Conference will be attended by more than 100 delegates from 11 SEAMEO member countries. This platform will address issues of a changing landscape in education and how it could be embraced by teachers and learners alike.

A teachers’ forum will also be held on November 22, dealing with the use of “news” as an effective teaching resource.

AsiaEducationExpo 2013 has attracted about 50 exhibitors and over 100 brands on show and will end on November 22.

SEAMEO consists of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam.-VNA