The ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) and the opposition Cambodian National Rescue Party (CNRP) unveiled the names of nine members of the reformed National Election Committee (NEC) on April 8.

The new NEC includes four from the CPP, four from the CNRP and one neutral non-affiliated member.

In a letter sent to President of the National Assembly Heng Samrin, Prime Minister and CPP Vice President Hun Sen appointed Sek Bunhok as NEC chairman and Mean Shathi, Duch Son and Em Sophat as members.

Meanwhile, CNRP President Sam Rainsy wrote to Heng Samrin, named Kuoy Bunroeun, Rong Chhun, Hing Thirith and Te Manirong as members.

Two leaders agreed to choose Hang Puthea, head of the election-monitoring group Nicfec, as the NEC’s neutral member.

The reformed NEC establishment is part of the agreement reached on July 22, 2014 between Prime Minister Hun Sen and CNRP President Sam Rainsy to end the opposition’s ten-month boycott of the parliament following the 2013 election.

The NEC is scheduled to be formally established on April 13.-VNA