Cambodia has deposited the instrument of ratification to the ASEAN Framework Agreement on visa exemption for ASEAN nationals with Secretary General Surin Pitsuwan, according to the ASEAN Secretariat.

The agreement, which was signed by the ASEAN Foreign Ministers at their 39 th meeting in 2006 in Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia , will take effect once it is ratified by all 10 ASEAN member states.

In a press release on October 15, the secretariat said under the agreement, ASEAN nationals travelling within the region during a two-week period will enjoy visa free entry. This is expected to stimulate intra-ASEAN social interaction as well as tourism, trade and commerce among member countries.

In the mean time, visa requirements for the ASEAN nationals are being exempted through the bilateral Memorandum of Understanding as well as on the basis of reciprocity.-VNA