The Cambodian parliament approved the list of nine members of the new National Election Committee (NEC) with 113 out of 117 votes on April 9.

The nine members include four each from the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP) and the opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP), and one "neutral" member as elected with the consent of both parties.

According to the new NEC member list, Sek Bunhok will be chairman of the NEC and Kuoy Bunroen was named vice chairman.

Prime Minister Hun Sen said the nine members would no longer be considered members of any political party, but rather as neutral NEC members. CNRP President Sam Rainsy said it was a milestone in Cambodia's political history.

The new NEC was introduced after Hun Sen and Sam Rainsy reached an agreement on July 22, 2014 to end the opposition's 10-month boycott of parliament following the 2013 elections.

As scheduled, the new committee will officially debut on April 13.-VNA