The Cau Pagoda is situated right in Hoi An Ancient Town, Quang Nam Province, connecting Tran Phu and Nguyen Thi Minh Khai roads.

Initially, the bridge was built by Japanese tradesmen possibly in the 17th century, thus it is also called the Japanese bridge.

It was not until 1653 that a tile-roofed structure was erected, connecting to the northern railings, protruding between the bridge, that’s why local people often call the covered bridge Chua Cau (Pagoda Bridge). The pagoda was renovated many times.

The current structure of the Cau Pagoda was formed from renovations in the 18th and 19th centuries. Any visitors to the Hoi An Ancient Town are also impressed with the pagoda’s unique architectures: a tiled roof structure on top, a bridge below.

The bridge was made entirely of painted wood, 18m long, and the foundation is made of stone pillars.The pagoda’s patterns are carved, engraved and painted with every elaborate motifs. Of note, the pagoda is overlooking to the Thu Bon River, taking in clean and fresh air. The Pagoda Bridge is decorated with enameled porcelain pieces or porcelain plates, a typical architectural style of the Nguyen Dynasty.

Although it is a pagoda, the pagoda is not worshipping the Buddha [like other typical pagodas in Viet Nam], but a spirit that protects and brings happiness to the local people.

The two ends of the Cau Pagoda stand two wooden animal statutes, one is a dog statute and the other is a monkey head statue.The statues are carved with jackfruit wood in a sitting position, in front of each statue there is a bowl in which local people often burn incense.

The Cau Pagoda is not only tourism symbol of the ancient town but also a place that connects the soul of the earth and Hoi An people.