Citizens from 14 more countries permitted to enter Laos under new travel scheme hinh anh 1People wearing face masks are seen on a street in Vientiane, Laos. (Photo: VNA)

Vientiane (VNA) – The Consular Affairs Department of the Lao Ministry of Foreign Affairs has added citizens from 14 more countries to the list of nationalities eligible to travel to Laos under the Green Travel Zone Plan.

These nations include Brunei, Indonesia, the Philippines, Norway, Switzerland, Finland, Israel, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, New Zealand, Poland, Denmark, and Belgium.

Earlier, Laos has announced the list of 17 countries, including Vietnam, whose citizens are allowed to enter the country under the new travel scheme from the beginning of 2022.

Under the reopening scheme, which will be rolled out in three phases, tourists will be allowed to travel within two zones, namely Green Travel Zones and Green Travel Trails.

During Phase One, from January 1 to March 30, 2022, tourists may visit Vientiane capital, Luang Prabangprovince, and Vang Vieng district of Vientiane province. Meanwhile, five provinces will be authorised for Green Travel Trails, including Oudomxay, Xayaboury, Xieng Khouang, Khammouane, and Champasack.

During Phase Two, the Green Travel Zones will consist of nine provinces, namely Vientiane capital, Vientiane province, Luang Prabang, Oudomxay, Xayaboury, Xieng Khouang, Khammouane, Savannakhet, and Champasack.

Four provinces will be assigned for the Green Travel Trails during Phase Two, including Houay Xay district in Bokeo province, and Luang Namtha, Sekong and Salavanh provinces.

The Lao Ministry of Health on January 1 said the country recorded 1,023 COVID-19 cases and two deaths in the past 24 hours. All of which were community infections. The capital of Vientiane continued to lead the country with 374 community cases.

The total number of COVID-19 infections in Laos has so far reached 112,023 cases, of which 374 people have died./.