Conflict-affected countries target sustainable development hinh anh 1Delegates at the event (Photo: VNA)
Hanoi (VNA) – The “Global Conference on the 2030 Agenda: A Roadmap for SDGs in Fragile and Conflict-affected States” opened in Timor-Leste’s capital city of Dili on May 22.

The function was held by the Government of Timor-Leste in partnership with members of the High Level Support Group for Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the G7 .

It saw the attendance of representatives of the UN Secretary General, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Sierra Leon, civil society organisations and the private sector .

The conference provided a platform to discuss and share lessons on specific challenges facing fragile and conflict-affected countries in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

This is one of the plans included in the South-South Cooperation which aims to accelerate development through the sharing of experience and technologies between developing countries.

In his opening remarks, Timor-Leste President Francisco Gutteres said although Timor-Leste was formed in 2002, the country is on the path towards SDGs.

According to the President, strategic targets set by Timor-Leste till 2030 include poverty reduction, health care, educational equality, clean water and hygiene, clean energy, employment and economic growth, innovation and infrastructure, inequality removal, maritime environment and climate change.

Earlier, UN Assistant Secretary-General and UNDP Regional Director for Asia-Pacific Haoliang Xu stressed the commitments made by the world’s largest multilateral organisation to maintaining sustainable peace.

He also applauded international efforts in implementing humanitarian development tasks.

Established in 2010, the G7 is an intergovernmental association gathering 20 countries affected by conflicts and are reviving, including Chad, Central African Republic, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leon, Liberia, Cote d’Ivoire, Togo, Sao Tome, Congo, Burundi, Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, South Sudan, Comoros, Timor-Leste, Papua New Guinea, and Solomon Islands.-VNA