Five foreign teams will compete at the annual International Women’s Volleyball Championships VTV-Binh Dien Cup 2015, according to the General Department of Sports and Physical Training.

Those teams include the Malaysian national team, the sports club 4.25 from the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, the Fujian club from China, Kazakhstan’s Astana club and Japan’s Tenri University’s team.

They will compete against four leading local clubs – VTV-Binh Dien Long An, Thong tin-LienVietPost Bank, VietinBank and Tien Nong Thanh Hoa - for prizes totally valued at 43,200 USD.

The champions will pocket 15,000 USD, the runners-up 10,000 USD and the third-ranked team 6,000 USD. Several individual awards, worth 500 USD each, will be also given during the tournament.

The competition will take place in the central province of Quang Tri from March 21-29.

The annual volleyball competition made its debut in 2004 but Vietnamese teams were victorious only in four out of 11 occasions.-VNA