The Fourth Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) Summit opened in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar on Dec. 20 with the participation of the leaders of the six GMS countries.

Themed "Beyond 2012: Towards a New Decade of GMS Strategic Development Partnership", the event was chaired by the host country’s President Thein Sein.

Leaders of the six GMS countries -- Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen, Chinese State Councillor Dai Bingguo, Lao Prime Minister Thongsing Thammavong, Myanmar 's President Thein Sein, Thai Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra and Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung, are expected to endorse the New GMS Strategic Framework for 2012-2022 and sign the summit’s joint statement.

They will discuss the vision on further promoting cooperation in nine key areas of transport, energy, information and communications, environment, agriculture, tourism, human resource development, trade facilitation and investment.

The event will also adopt a series of important documents on cooperation results in agriculture, environmental protection, construction of GMS information superhighway and GMS cargo transport.

The Greater Mekong Subregion Economic Cooperation Programme was launched in 1992 by the six countries sharing the Mekong River, namely Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The Asian Development Bank initiated the programme and acts as GMS's coordinator, financing bank and technical supporter./.