Indonesia’s Democratic Party (DP) has announced that it will conduct a campaign to select its only candidate for the upcoming presidential election in the country.

According to Suaidi Marasabessy, the secretary of the DP Convention Committee, from January 21 the 11 contenders selected by the committee will participate in a series of televised debates in which they will each articulate their vision for the 2014 presidential run.

Marasabessy stressed that this is an important event and it will help Indonesian people to get to know more about the DP’s candidates as well as their prospective approach to the presidential post.

He also underlined the significant impact of the event on the country’s future development.

As planned, the 11 contenders will debate in groups of five and six in Palembang city in South Sumatra and Medan city in North Sumatra, localities where voters often prove decisive in Indonesian elections.

The 11 candidates are as follows:

- Ali Masykur Musa, a member of the Supreme Audit Agency

- Anies Baswedan, the rector of Paramadina University

- Dahlan Iskan, the Minister of State-Owned Enterprises

- Dino Patti Djalal, former Indonesian ambassador to the United States

- Endriartono Sutarto, former commander of Indonesia’s armed forces

- Gita Wirjawan, the Minister of Trade

- Hayono Isman, a lawmaker in the House of Representatives

- Irman Gusman, the chairman of the Regional Representative Council

- Marzuki Alie, speaker of the House of Representatives

- Pramono Edhie Wibowo, former Army chief of staff

- Sinyo Harry Sarundajang, the governor of North Sulawesi

The series of debates will be broadcast until April and televised across the country.-VNA