Golkar Party member and law-maker Setya Novanto was elected as Indonesia’s House Speaker on October 2.

He will be in charge of a team of four deputy speakers, including Fadli Zon from the Great Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra), Fahri Hamzah from the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), Agus Hermanto from the Democratic Party, and Fahri Hamzah from the National Mandate Party for the 2014-2015 period.

On October 1, new members of the House of Representatives (DPR), the Regional Representatives Council (DPD) and the People's Consultative Assembly (MPR) were sworn in, which was witnessed by outgoing President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono and President-elect Joko Widodo.

The coalition supports the election of a member of the United Development Party to be the speaker for the 692-strong People's Consultative Assembly, Indonesia’s Upper House.-VNA