The Indonesian government will extend visa exemption to 25 countries, including China, the Republic of Korea, Russia and Japan, according to Indonesian Tourism Minister Arief Yahya.

The move is made to boost the country’s tourism industry, which aims to attract 10 million international visitors this year.

Last year, the archipelago nation welcomed 9.4 million tourists in 2014, up 7.2 percent from 2013.

Indonesia currently exempts visa for citizens from all member nations of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations plus Hong Kong, Macau, Chile, Morocco, Peru and Ecuador.-VNA