Japan’s incoming Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda has named his cabinet, retaining only five ministers from Kan’s administration.

In the new cabinet launched on Sept. 1, Osamu Fujimura, former deputy secretary general of the Democratic Party of Japan (DPJ), was appointed as chief Cabinet secretary, Jun Azumi, former DPJ Diet affairs chief, as new finance minister and Koichiro Gemba, former DPJ policy chief, as new foreign minister.

To ensure continuity in solutions on reconstruction after the twin natural disasters on March 11 and to handle the ongoing Fukushima nuclear crisis, Noda reappointed Goshi Hosono, minister in charge of nuclear disaster, and Tatsuo Hirano, minister in charge of reconstruction. Hirano will be also minister of environment.

The new cabinet members were to assume office after pledging an oath at the Royal Palace on Sept. 2 and the first session of the new cabinet was scheduled to be conducted after several hours./.