The seventh Lao National Assembly re-elected General Secretary of the Lao People's Revolutionary Party (LPRP) Choummaly Sayasone as President at its first session that opened in Vientiane on June 15.

Lao NA delegates also re-elected Thongsing Thammavong as Prime Minister, Pany Yathortou as NA President and Politburo member of the LPRP Central Committee Bounnhang Volachit as Vice State President.

Addressing the opening of the first session, Politburo member and President of the sixth NA Pany Yathortou briefed the results of the April 30 NA election.

The election reflected the entire Lao people’s solidarity and their confidence in Lao State authorities and new regime, she said.

During the session, the NA will hear the results of the election of deputies to the seventh NA, discuss and adopt the apparatus of the seventh legislature, management agencies and the Supreme People’s Court and the Supreme People’s Procuracy.

The deputies are also to discuss the government's seventh five-year socio-economic development plan for 2011-2015 and the socio-economic development plan and State budget plan in the 2011-2012 period./.