List of new NA deputies to be available 20 days after election day hinh anh 1NA Chairwoman Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan chairs the fifth session of the NEC (Photo: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) – The results of the election of deputies to the 14th National Assembly (NA) will be announced within 20 days after election day (May 22), according to the National Election Council (NEC) Office.

The NA deputies will be chosen at the same time as the deputies to all-level People’s Councils for the 2016 – 2021 tenure on May 22.

At the NEC’s fifth session in Hanoi on May 18, NA and NEC Chairwoman Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan said the meeting was to review election preparations nationwide which have been conducted on schedule.

Relevant agencies from central to grassroots levels have done a good job of setting up committees in charge of the election, publicising the lists of voters, and holding meetings to help candidates canvassing for votes. They have also solved complaints and denunciations, stepped up communications, and geared up forces to ensure safety for the election day, she added.

In its report, the NEC Office said final preparations are being made. Voters in some remote areas in Lai Chau, Khanh Hoa and Ba Ria – Vung Tau provinces have already cast ballots.

The Office added that in the next few days, the NEC should focus on finishing candidates’ meetings with voters, readying material conditions for the general election, and guaranteeing security and order for the event.

Communications should be hastened to help voters, especially young people, be fully aware of the election’s importance and voting procedures. A press conference on the election preparations is scheduled to take place on May 20.

After the election results are released, the NEC will steer the settlement of complaints arising and the verification of the NA deputy election winners’ eligibility, the Office noted.

The new parliament will comprise 500 deputies. Provincial People’s Councils across Vietnam will have 3,918 deputies. Meanwhile, 24,993 and 294,055 candidates will be elected as council members at the district and communal levels, respectively.-VNA