Myanmar approves new election commission establishment hinh anh 1 President-elect U Htin Kyaw (Source
Hanoi (VNA) - Myanmar's Union Parliament on March 28 approved the establishment of a new Union Election Commission to handle issues of the next general election which is scheduled for 2021.

The new Union Election Commission, proposed by President-elect U Htin Kyaw, is headed by U Hla Thein, with four other members, including U Aung Myint, U Soe Ye, U Tun Khin and U Hla Tint.

The previous Commission, chaired by U Tin Aye for the 2015 general election, was formed by U Thein Sein's Government.

U Htin Kyaw, 69 of the National League for Democracy (NLD), was elected President on March 15, becoming Myanmar’s first civilian President for decades.

He will be sworn in at a ceremony on April 1.-VNA