National League for Democracy (NLD) leader San Suu Kyi. Photo: AP/VNA
Hanoi (VNA) – The Myanmar's Union Election Commission (UEC) on November 11 announced that leader of the opposition National League for Democracy (NLD), San Suu Kyi, won the November 8 election and a seat in the Parliament’s House of Representatives.

San Suu Kyi is a representative in the Kawhmu constituency in Yangon, together with Kyaw Zin Hein, a candidate from the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP).

According to the UEC, the November 8 election saw the competition of 6,038 candidates from 91 political parties as well as 310 independent runners, who vied for over 1,000 seats in legislative bodies at all levels.

The NLD had 1,123 candidates, while the USDP sent 1,122 runners to the election.

As of November 10 evening, the UEC announced 333 parliament seat winners, including 88 to the House of Representatives, 33 to the House of Nationalities and 212 regional or state parliament. Of the total, the NLD won 291 seats, while the USDP won only 27.-VNA