Myanmar sets up committee to facilitate power transfer hinh anh 1Myanmar President Thein Sein (R) meets with NLD party chairperson Aung San Suu Kyi in Naypyidaw (Source :AFP)
Hanoi (VNA) – The Government of Myanmar has set up a committee to facilitate the transfer of power from the current government to the National League for Democracy Party (NLD).

The Government’s committee members include Union Minister U Hla Tun as Chairman and Information Union Minister Ye Htut, Director General of the President’s Office Hla Tun, Deputy Director General of the Ministry of Construction Maung Maung Ohn and Director of the President’s Office Zaw Htay. 

The NLD has also assigned its Central Executive Committee members Win Htein, Dr Myo Aung and former rector of Yangon University Dr Aung Thu to help coordinate the transition in conjunction with the government’s support committee.

The November 8 general election results showed that the NLD won more than 50 percent of the seats in both the lower and upper houses, which are enough to form a government under the country’s constitution and elect two vice presidents. The NLD has not yet disclosed the person selected for the presidency. 

On December 2, NLD Chairperson Ang San Suu Kyi had separate meetings with Myanmar President U Thein Sein and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Services Senior-General Min Aung Hlaing to discuss plans for the smooth power transfer

Previously on November 19, she had talks with Speaker of the Union Parliament and House of Representatives (Lower House) U Shwe Mann, in which they agreed to focus on national reconciliation and consolidation in forming a parliament for the next term through coordination and cooperation.-VNA