Myanmar: USDP party establishes executive steering committee hinh anh 1USDP former Chairman U Thein Sein (Photo: Xinhua/VNA)
Hanoi (VNA) – Myanmar’s Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) said it established a Central E xecutive Committee (CEC) consisted of nine members, including its former Chairman U Thein Sein, who heads the committee.

The decision was made in the second day of the USDP’s second national congress in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar’s capital city, on August 23 following the resignation of Chairman U Thein Sein and Vice Chairman U Htay Oo.

The USDP’s modified CEC includes 24 members, in which U Than Htay, once a brigadier general in the military and Minister of Energy and Minister of Railway Transport in the previous government, was elected as Chairman.

U Myat Hein will take over the vice chairman position left by U Htay Oo while U Thet Naing Win becomes the USDP general secretary in the secretariat, which also features five other members.

The congress also passed the establishment of a central consultative committee headed by U Ohn Myint.

In the 2015 general election, USDP won only 10 percent of the seats in the Myanmar federal parliament.-VNA