Myanmar’s ruling party wins half in by-elections hinh anh 1Aung San Suu Kyi, leader of the ruling party National League for Democracy (NLD) (Photo: AFP/VNA)
  Hanoi (VNA) – The ruling party National League for Democracy (NLD), led by Aung San Suu Kyi, won nine out of 19 parliamentary seats in a recent by-election, according to the final results released by the Union Election Commission (UEC) on April 2.

Accordingly, the NLD won five seats with the House of Representatives (the Lower House), three with the House of Nationalities (the Upper House) and one with Shan state parliament.

Meanwhile, the ethnic Shan National League for Democracy (SNLD), led by Khun Htun Oo, won two seats in the lower house and four seats with the Shan State parliament.

The Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) of U Than Htay, won two seats, with one of the lower house and one with the state parliament.

The All Nationalities Democracy Party and the Arakan National Party (ANP) won one seat each with the state parliament in Kayah state and Rakhine state constituencies.

The by-election, which took place across Myanmar on April 1, was the first held since the new government led by the NLD one year after its assumption of office.

A total of 2 million voters casted their ballots for 94 candidates competing for 19 parliamentary seats. - VNA