Myanmar’s ruling party wins parliamentary by-election hinh anh 1A woman casts ballot during a parliament by-election at a polling station in Yangon April 1, 2017. (Photo: Xinhua)

Hanoi (VNA) Myanmar’s ruling party National League for Democracy (NLD) has won six of the 13 parliamentary seats in the parliament’s by-election on November 3, according to the country’s Union Election Commission (UEC).

Of 13 seats in nine regions and states, the NLD won two in the House of Representatives (Lower House) and four in the region parliaments while the Union Solidarity Development Party (USDP) won one in the House of Nationalities (Upper House) and two in region parliaments.

The Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD) secured one seat in the House of Representatives in Shan state's Laikha constituency, while the Chin National League for Democracy (CNLD) and an independent candidate gained one seat each for the state parliaments in Chin state's Matupi constituency and Rakhine state's Yethedaung constituency, respectively.

The name of the winning party for one vacant seat in House of Representatives for Chin state's Kanpetlet constituency has not been announced yet.

Myanmar voters cast their ballots across 1,383 polling stations nationwide in the by-election on November 3 in which a total of 69 candidates, including 62 from 24 political parties and seven independent candidates, were competing for the 13 parliamentary seats left vacant.

Of the 13 open parliamentary seats, four are available with the House of Representative, one with the House of Nationalities and eight with the state or region parliaments.

Among the 62 political party candidates, 13 were nominated by the ruling NLD to compete in all seats, while 10 by the former ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) and the rest were sent by other parties.

The NLD also won nine of 19 seats in the national and regional parliaments in the by-election last year. –VNA