The 16th Lan Song Xanh (Green Wave) Music Awards honoured composers, singers and music bands who have made outstanding contribution to Vietnamese music in 2013, at the Lan Anh Music Stage in Ho Chi Minh City on the evening of December 16.

Winners of the 'Most Favourite Musician' award included Huy Tuan, Duong Khac Linh, Nguyen Hong Thuan, Pham Thanh Ha, Tu Nguyen, Trinh Thang Binh, Vu Trung Duc, Mr. Siro, Hoang Ton and Wanbi Tuan Anh, reports Sai Gon Giai Phong newspaper.

Top 10 Favorite Singers’ awards were voted by audiences and went to Dam Vinh Hung, My Tam, Tuan Hung, Ho Ngoc Ha, Thanh Bui, Hien Thuc, Cao Thai Son, Uyen Linh, Noo Phuoc Thinh and Dong Nhi.

In "Best Single of the Year" category, singer Ho Ngoc Ha won for hit song "Hay thu tha cho em" (Let's forgive).

'Most Effective Sound-Mixing Musician' award went to composer Nguyen Thanh Binh for the song "Tinh yeu mau nang" (Love the Colour of Sunshine).

The music band V. Music was honored with the ‘Album of the Year’ award for Toi Yeu Thanh Pho Toi (I Love My City) and young music band 365 was awarded ‘Favorite Music Band’.

Young singer Dinh Huong, the second winner in "The Voice Vietnam 2012", received the 'Promising Female Singer' award, voted by reporters.

The 'Promising Male Singer' award went to Quoc Thien, who was a winner in Vietnam Idol 2008 contest.

This year, the organisers do not award the 'Singer of the Year' award because no singer won in the selections.

The results of each music category is to base on 50 percent audience votes. The rest is based on results from Phuong Nam Film Company, music website, Vinaphone, Youtube and iTunes.

This is the first time the organisers gave more than three consolation prizes, including for music video with most views on Youtube; the song with most listening time on music website; and the song receiving most copyright protection.

The music video with most views on Youtube was given to "Anh nho em" (I miss You) by singer Tuan Hung. The song with most listening time on music website was given to "Lang nghe nuoc mat" by composer Mr.Siro.

The song receiving the most copyright protection was given to "Ky uc ngot ngao" (Sweet memories) by composer Phuc Truong.

The annual Lan Song Xanh (Green Wave) Music Awards are organised to honor singers and musicians who have made outstanding contributions to Vietnamese music during the year.

The Awards were first launched in 1997 by the radio Voice of Ho Chi Minh City.-VNA