Over 40 countries yearn for FTAs with EAEU hinh anh 1Russian Minister of Economic Development Alexei Ulykayev (Photo:pictures.zimbio)
Over 40 countries worldwide want to establish free trade agreements (FTA) with the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) which comprises Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

The statement was made by Russian Minister of Economic Development Alexei Ulykayev during a consultation meeting of economic ministers from East Asia Summit (EAS) member countries held on August 24 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia , on the sidelines of the 47th ASEAN Economic Ministers’ Meeting (AEM) and related meetings.

According to the minister, after the EAEU signed an FTA with Vietnam in May this year, over 40 countries and international organisations including Indonesia, China, Thailand and Cambodia want to establish FTAs with the union.

Active participation to the process will lead to cement ties in the region, increase regional investment attractiveness as well as create favourable conditions for Russian companies to approach new markets, he said. -VNA