Philippines extends entry ban on arrivals from seven countries hinh anh 1Vaccination against COVID-19 in Navotas, the Philippines. (Photo: Xinhua/VNA)
Manila (VNA) - Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte said the country will extend its entry ban to June 30 on arrivals from seven countries - India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Oman and the UAE - following the complicated developments of the  COVID-19 pandemic and new variants.

The Philippines will deny entry for passengers who have been to one of those countries in the last 14 days.
President Duterte also approved the extension of restrictions in the capital city of Manila and neighboring provinces. The number of new COVID-19 cases in Manila have decreased but other provinces are struggling to curb the spread of the disease.

The Philippine government also imposed strict prevention measures in nine cities and 12 provinces including areas in the central and southern regions. In the past two weeks, many provinces in the central and southern regions of the Philippines recorded 30 percent of new cases.

The Philippines has reported 1,322,053 COVID-19 cases as of June 14, including 22,845 deaths./.