The Philippines and Indonesia have signed an agreement concerning the delimitation of an exclusive economic zone (EEZ) boundary in the Mindanao and Celebes seas.

The agreement was signed by Filipino Foreign Secretary Albert del Rosario and his Indonesian counterpart Marty Natalegawa on May 23 in the Philippines, in the presence of the host President Benigno Aquino and visiting Indonesian leader Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

Yudhoyono is on a state visit to the Philippines to attend the ongoing World Economic Forum on East Asia 2014 in the country.

For the signing of the agreement, the two countries have negotiated for 20 years, focusing on the maritime boundary and the overlapping of exclusive economic zones in the Mindanao and Celebes seas. The talks first began in 1994 with the formation of the Joint Permanent Working Group on Maritime and Ocean Concerns (JPWG-MOC).

At the 8th meeting of JPWG-MOC on May 18, the two sides announced the decision to ink the agreement.-VNA