Shanghai Cooperation Organisation backs peace in East Sea hinh anh 1Foreign ministers of Uzbekistan and China meet at the meeting (Source: xinhua/VNA)
Hanoi (VNA) – Member states of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) on May 24 voiced their support for maintaining peace and stability in Asia-Pacific, including the East Sea, at their foreign ministerial meeting in Uzbekistan.

In SCO Secretary-General Rashid Olimov’s statement on the East Sea, foreign ministers of all SCO members supported efforts to safeguard peace and stability in the East Sea.

They emphasised that the United Nations (UN) Charter, the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, the Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence and other international laws should be respected in the East Sea.

Established in China’s Shanghai in 2001, the SCO includes China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

Afghanistan, Belarus, India, Iran, Mongolia and Pakistan are its observers, while Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey are its dialogue partners.-VNA