Singapore’s Elections Department has made changes to the boundaries of polling districts within several electoral divisions, a good indication of an impending general election.

The alterations in eight Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) were published on the portal of the Government Gazette on July 21, including Chua Chu Kang, East Coast, Jurong, Moulmein-Kallang, Nee Soon, Pasir-Ris Punggol, Sembawang and Tanjong Pagar.

The adjustments aim to ensure an even distribution of voters across polling stations, the Elections Department said, adding that it had posted a notification of the changes in February.

The next polls must be held ahead of January 2017.-VNA