Sponsors of APEC 2017 events announced hinh anh 1APEC Vietnam 2017 sponsors announced (Source: VNA)
Hanoi (VNA) – As many as 31 sponsors have committed support in kind and cash for APEC Year 2017 hosted by Vietnam.

Among the sponsors whose names were announced by the APEC Sponsorship Mobilisation Committee at a ceremony in Hanoi on October 17 are Audi Vietnam, Vingroup, Vietnam Airlines, Boeing, military-run telecom group Viettel, Minh Long High-Class Ceramics, Vietnam Posts and Telecommunications Group (VNPT) and Sun Group. 

They pledged sponsorships valued at 10 billion VND (440,000 USD) or above each, both in kind and cash.

The remainders are eight major sponsors with commitments from 5 billion VND to below 10 billion VND each, two co-sponsors who pledged 3 billion VND to below 5 billion VND for the event, and 13 sponsors with a value of below 3 billion VND.

Addressing the ceremony, Deputy Prime Minister Pham Binh Minh, who is also President of the APEC 2017 National Committee, applauded contributions of the sponsors to activities within APEC Year 2017.

Such contributions demonstrate businesses’ confidence in policies of the Party and State, he said.

Deputy PM Minh noted that through the hosting of APEC 2017, Vietnam aims to implement its policy of active and proactive international integration, and prove itself as a responsible member of the international community.

Vietnam has also taken this occasion to promote its image as a dynamic country which is developing robustly, and its enterprises during international integration.

Bui Thanh Son, Deputy Foreign Minister and head of the APEC 2017 Secretariat, said from December 2016 until now, Vietnam organised six Ministerial Meetings and six Senior Officials’ Meetings in eight cities and provinces, with the participation of 10,000 domestic and foreign delegates.

The APEC Economic Leaders’ Week will take place in Da Nang from November 6 to 11. The event will bring together around 10,000 delegates from 21 APEC member economies.

Established in 1989, APEC comprises Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong (China), Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the US, and Vietnam.-VNA