Thai and Myanmar citizens, as well as foreign tourists, will be allowed to pass through four Thai-Myanmar border checkpoints, starting from August 28, a Thai newspaper reported. The four checkpoints are Tachileik-Mae Sai, Myawady-Mae Sot, Kawthaung-Ranong and Htee Khee-Sunaron.

The opening of border checkpoints for entry and exit aimed at providing better service to visitors holding passport and Myanmar entry visa as well. In addition, Myanmar citizens with visas and passports will also be allowed to visit Thailand through the border crossings, an official from Myanmar side was quoted saying. The move would also help create greater opportunities for trading and tourism.

Thailand and Myanmar share a border of 2,400 kilometres.-VNA