The Thai government has inaugurated five areas along the border lines as special economic zones.

Rangsan Srivorasart, Permanent Secretary of the Minister of Finance, has disclosed that Prime Minister Gen. Prayut Chan-ocha endorsed the inauguration of six special economic zones on the border areas.

The committee on the development of special economic zone has announced the locations of the six new special economic zones, which include: -Tak special economic zone, which comprises 14 sub-districts in three districts of Phob Phra, Mae Sot and Mae Ramard; - Mukdaharn special economic zone, which covers 12 sub- districts in three districts of Muang, Wan Yai and Dontal of the upper part of Mukadarn; -Sakeo special economic zone, which covers four sub-districts in two districts of the lower northeastern province of Sakeo; -Songkhla special economic zone, which is located in four districts in the district of Sadao in the southern province of Sonkhla, and - Trat special economic zone, which is located in three sub- districts of Khlong Yai district in the eastern province of Trat.

The government is determined to improve the situation in terms of economic and security in those areas by boosting economic growth, generating employment, improving residents' standard of living, and stopping trafficking of illegal migrant workers as well as eradicating illegal drug smuggling, the Permanent Secretary said.-VNA