Overview of the conference (Source: http://daidoanket.vn)
Da Nang (VNA) – Efforts of the Vietnam Fatherland Front (VFF) at all levels contributed significantly to the success of the general election in May this year, affirmed Nguyen Thien Nhan, Politburo member and President of the Front’s Central Committee.

Speaking at the VFF conference in the central city of Da Nang on June 28, Nhan, who is also Deputy Chairman of the National Election Council, noted that over 99 percent of the voters went to the poll during election of deputies to the 14th National Assembly and all-level People’s Councils for the 2016-2021 tenure on May 22.

This showed the strong awareness and political responsibility of citizens in choosing their worthy representatives in the National Assembly and people-elected agencies in localities, he said.

According to VFF Vice President and General Secretary Tran Thanh Man, the VFF Central Committee and its bodies in localities worked in close coordination with the authorities and election agencies during the organisation of the election.

However, he pointed out that some localities paid inadequate attention to communications on the election, leading to a wide gap among localities in the numbers of voters joining meetings with NA candidates.

He asked the VFF bodies at all levels to draw lessons and seek measures to improve their working efficiency at the next elections.

According to the National Election Council, on the election day, 67,049,091 out of 67,485,428 eligible voters nationwide, or 99.35 percent, went to the polls. Localities with high voting rate included Gia Lai, Quang Nam, Thua Thien-Hue, Tra Vinh and Yen Bai with 99.99 percent, followed by Hoa Binh with 99.98 percent and Ben Tre, 99.97 percent.

As many as 78 members of central and local bodies of the VFF succeeded at the votes, two more people than the previous tenure, accounting for 15.73 percent of the total elected NA deputies nationwide.

On the occasion, the VFF Central Committee also presented certificates of merit to 63 collectives and 189 individuals for their outstanding performance in the organisation of the election.-VNA