China and five Southeast Asian countries, namely Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam, have signed a joint declaration at a ministerial meeting in Myanmar, with the aim to strengthen cooperation in the fight against drug trafficking.

The meeting in Myanmar’s capital city of Nay Pyi Taw on May 9 saw the participation of Ministers of the six countries and representatives from the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).

The Nay Pyi Taw declaration noted satisfaction over great efforts made by the six countries and the achievements they have gained in their effective cooperation within the framework of international, regional, sub-regional and bilateral cooperation mechanisms on drug trafficking prevention.

The declaration noted the surge in manufacture and production of amphetamine-type stimulants and the expansion of opium poppy cultivation undermine the regional development.

It also acknowledged that the combination of drug trafficking and other forms of transnational organised crimes pose a particular challenge to the stability and rule of law in border areas.

The six nations reaffirmed their determination to overcome the drug problem in East Asia, assuring their efforts to eliminate the drug problem in the region.

They also agreed to strengthen trans-border cooperation and share experience in preventing drug abuse, treating drug addicts and raising the community’s awareness of drug impacts.

In 1993, a memorandum of understanding on drug control was signed by four nations namely China, Laos, Myanmar and Thailand through the coordination of UNODC.

The cooperation was extended with Cambodia and Vietnam by signing the same agreement in 1995.-VNA