First Vice President of the Cambodian Senate Sai Chhum was elected President of the Senate on June 9, replacing Chea Sim who passed away on June 8.

Sai Chhum, who is Head of the Standing Board of the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) Central Committee, received the support of all 52 senators who were present at the June 9 extraordinary session.

Senator Nay Pena of the CPP was elected as the first Vice President of the Senate.

The third mandate of the Senate (2012-2018) consists of 61 senators, including 46 from the ruling CPP, 13 from the opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP) and 2 appointed by the King.-VNA