Japan has pledged to continue its support for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in achieving a higher level of sustainability, prosperity and integration for peace and stability in the region.

Speaking before the Parliament, Japanese Foreign Minister Fumio Kishida confirmed Tokyo’s resolution to make more active contributions to peace and stability in Asia as well as other regions across the world.

The move is in accordance with Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s policy of proactively contributing to peace based on international cooperation, the diplomat said.

ASEAN groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The ASEAN Economic Community is expected to be formed in late 2015, forming one of the three pillars of the ASEAN Community, together with the ASEAN Political Security Community (APSC), and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC).

It aims to establish a single common market and production base for the ASEAN member countries, enabling the free movement of goods, services, capital and skilled labourers within the bloc.-VNA