National Assembly ratifies new cabinet members

The on-going 13 th National Assembly on August 3 ratified Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung’s nomination of Deputy Prime Ministers, ministers and other members of his new cabinet in the 2011-2016 term.
The on-going 13 th National Assembly on August 3 ratified Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung’s nomination of Deputy Prime Ministers, ministers and other members of his new cabinet in the 2011-2016 term.

After the NA adopted a resolution specifying its ratification, Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung made an inaugural speech, expressing thanks to the National Assembly for re-electing him for another term and for approving his proposed appointment of positions for the 13 th Government (2011-2016).

He said he regarded the ratification as a great honour and also a heavy responsibility that the Party, State and people have given to the new cabinet and him.

“The Government and Prime Minister will be loyal to the Fatherland, the nation, the Communist Party of Vietnam and the Constitution of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam,” PM Dung pledged.

He went on to stress that the Government will spare no effort to competently perform its assigned functions and tasks as the executive body of the National Assembly and as the top administrative organ of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam for the goal of building Vietnam into a strong country with wealthy people, democracy, justice and cilivisation.

The top leader of the 13 th Government stressed that he and the Government have recognised that their thorough and central tasks during the new term are to maximise advantages and opportunities, avert difficulties and challenges, promote the achievements obtained, and overcome weaknesses and shortcomings.

Besides, the Government and the Prime Minister will spare no effort to work together with the entire Party, people and army in bringing into full play the nation’s strength to step up the renewal process comprehensively and successfully implement socio-economic development goals of the 2011-2015 plan, especially the three Strategic breakthroughs, the transformation of growth model and the restructuring of the national economy as defined by the 11 th National Party Congress, PM Dung said.

“In the immediate time, the Government and Prime Minister will focus on drastically and effectively containing inflation, stabilising the macro-economy, removing difficulties for production and businesses, ensuring security and social welfare, especially seeking ways to lessen hardships for the poor and low-income earners and improve the people’s living conditions.

At the same time, the Government and Prime Minister will carry out consistently and simultaneously measures to firmly defend the Fatherland’s independence, sovereignty, unity and territorial integrity, protect the Party, State, people and the socialist regime, ensure national security and social order and safety, proactively prevent and foil all schemes and acts of sabotage by hostile forces,” PM Dung told the NA duties.

PM Dung went on to say: “The Government and Prime Minister have highly valued important and efficient contributions made by the 12 th Government.”

He affirmed that he and the 13 th Government will continue with valuable experience and fine tradition of the previous Governments and seriously abide by the principle of centralised democracy, and firmly keep disciplines.

The cabinet members will work together for a government of unity and consensus to fully promote the collective role of the government and highlight responsibility of the Prime Minister and each government members, act resolutely and creatively, cooperate and assist each other in accomplishing the assigned tasks, PM Dung said.

According to vote results, the NA ratified Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Hoang Trung Hai, Nguyen Thien Nhan and Vu Van Ninh as Deputy Prime Ministers in the 2011-2016 term.

The NA also endorsed the ministers nominated by Prime Minister Nguyen Tan for his new cabinet

They included Minister of Defence Phung Quang Thanh; Minister of Public Security Tran Dai Quang; Minister of Foreign Affairs Pham Binh Minh; Minister of Home Affairs Nguyen Thai Binh; Minister of Justice Ha Hung Cuong; Minister of Planning and Investment Bui Quang Vinh; Minister of Finance Vuong Dinh Hue; Minister of Industry and Trade Vu Huy Hoang; Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Cao Duc Phat; Minister of Transport Dinh La Thang; Minister of Construction Trinh Dinh Dung; Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Nguyen Minh Quang; Minister of Information and Communications Nguyen Bac Son; Minister of Labour, War Invalids and Social Affairs Pham Thi Hai Chuyen; Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Hoang Tuan Anh; Minister of Science and Technology Nguyen Quan; Minister of Education and Training Pham Vu Luan and Minister of Health Nguyen Thị Kim Tien.

The deputies also approved Giang Seo Phu as chairman of the Committee for Ethnic Minority Affairs, Nguyen Van Binh as Governor of the State Bank of Vietnam, Huynh Phong Tranh as Head of the Government Inspectorate and Vu Duc Dam as Head of the Government Office.

Also in the morning session the same day, the deputies heard a report delivered by State President Truong Tan Sang, Chairman of the Defence and Security Council pertaining to the nomination of Vice Chairmen and members of the Defence and Security Council./.

See more