Prime Minister of Vietnam Nguyen Tan Dung has expressed his congratulations to Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen on the victory of the Cambodian People's Party (CPP) in the July 28 general election .

“I believe that with the outcome of this election, Cambodia’s new National Assembly and Government will be formed soon for the sake of stability, national development and interest of the Cambodian people, which would contribute to peace and development in the region and the world,” PM Dung said in a congratulatory message sent to his Cambodian counterpart Hun Sen on August 2.

He expressed wish that the friendly neighbourhood and the comprehensive, long-standing cooperation between Vietnam and Cambodia will be further consolidated and developed.

According to Cambodia 's National Election Committee (NEC), as many as 6,616,110 people nationwide cast their votes in the July 28 election, accounting for 68.38 percent of the voters numbering 9,675,453.

Initial official results show that the ruling CPP got 3,227,729 votes, while the main opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP) gained 2,941,133 votes.

Sources in Cambodia said that the CPP won the majority of 68 parliamentary seats while the CNRP got the remaining 55 seats.

The Cambodian media on August 2 also highlighted congratulations from the Communist Party of Vietnam ( CPV ) on the CPP’s victory in the election.

Many major media agencies broadcast full text of CPV’s congratulatory message which expressed its belief that that Cambodia’s new National Assembly led by the CPP will continue to lead Cambodian people to overcome all difficulties and reap further achievements during the country’s cause of national construction and development, successfully building a Cambodia with peace, independence, democracy and social progress.

After primary results of the July 28 election was announced, many countries and international organisations extended their congratulations to Cambodia and the CPP, including Laos, Thailand and other ASEAN member countries, as well as Bangladesh, Russia, Hungary, the US, Japan and the European Union.-VNA