A new decision has ruled it unnecessary for passengers to fill in exit and entry declaration forms at nine international border gates and three international seaports from July 15.

The move, announced by the Immigration Department under the Ministry of Public Security, covers the following border gates: Nam Can (the central province of Nghe An), Na Meo (the central province of Thanh Hoa), Cha Lo (the central province of Quang Binh), Bo Y (the Central Highlands province of Kon Tum), Hoa Lu (the central province of Binh Phuoc), Xa Mat (the southern province of Tay Ninh), Vinh Xuong and Tinh Bien (the southern province of An Giang), and Ha Tien (the southern province of Kien Giang).

Chan May seaport in the central province of Thua Thien-Hue, Quy Nhon seaport in central Binh Dinh province and Duong Dong seaport in southern Kien Giang province will also follow the new ruling.

The border gates and seaports are fully equipped with machines that can automatically read passengers’ information in their passports. This has rendered much of the previous paperwork redundant.

The decision will be implemented at other border gates and seaports when they are eligible.-VNA