Malaysia: Ruling coalition triumphs in Sarawak state election hinh anh 1Malaysian Prime Minister and BN Chairman Najib Razak (second, left) and other members of the coalition celebrate the victory in Sarawak (Photo: EPA/VNA)

Kuala Lumpur (VNA) - Malaysia's ruling Barisan National (BN) coalition won a victory in Sarawak state election on May 7, garnering 72 in the 82-seat state assembly.

Of the 10 remaining seats, the Democratic Action Party (DAP) took seven and the People’s Justic Party (PKR) gained three.

Adenan Satem sworn-in as chief minister of Sarawak state on late May 7 right after the official result’s announcement. He took his oath of office before the Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Sarawak Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud.

In the previous election in 2011, the BN won 55 out of 71 seats.

Sarawak and Sabah, the other state on the island of Borneo, helped the ruling coalition to maintain power in the 2013 general election.

The two states are forecast to play a more important role in the coming general election in 2018.

Sarawak, Malaysia’s biggest state, is the only one to hold its state and federal polls separately.-VNA