Mekong Delta forges connectivity for stronger development hinh anh 1Rice field in Mekong Delta (Photo: VNA)
Can Tho (VNA) Mekong Delta localities should further enhance connectivity to promote strengths and address challenges in order to achieve stronger socio-economic development, Chairman of Can Tho municipal People’s Committee Vo Thanh Thong said at a conference in the city on November 1.

According to the official, the Mekong Delta key economic region council has promulgated a regional coordination blueprint for the 2016-2020 period, which aims to accomplish at least 75 percent of planned major projects, complete 80 percent of the cooperation agenda on human resource development and fine-tune a regional database system.

The region will propose centrally-run ministries and sectors provide capital to build Can Tho – Chau Doc highway, restructure agriculture in Long Xuyen Tetragon, improve the southern coastal belt road, and construct waterworks along the Hau river.

Deputy Head of the Steering Committee for the Southwestern Region Nguyen Trung Hieu suggested the issuance of Government bonds to implement key transport projects while devising mechanisms to increase financial aid for the localities.

He noted that the region has only 40 km of highway, a small proportion as compared to the total of 700km in the country.

Vice Chairman of An Giang provincial People’s Committee Le Van Nung said the construction of the Can Tho – Chau Doc highway should be kicked off as soon as possible to connect with the transport system of Long Xuyen Tetragon.

Vice Chairwoman of Kien Giang provincial People’s Committee Le Thi Minh Phung stressed the need to expand N1 road connecting Tinh Bien district in An Giang to Ha Tien district in Kien Giang from now to 2020.

The connection of N1 road with the southern coastal belt road will enable passengers to travel from Can Tho city to other provinces in the region, she said.

Participants held that the building of waterworks along the Hau river is needed to cope with serious drought and serve the daily life and production of local residents.

The Mekong Delta key economic region comprises 12 provinces and one centrally-run city, namely Can Tho, Long An, Tien Giang, Ben Tre, Vinh Long, Tra Vinh, Hau Giang, Soc Trang, Dong Thap, An Giang, Kien Giang, Bac Lieu and Ca Mau.-VNA