The Government has approved the expansion of e-customs procedures at seven provinces this year.

Long An, Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Dak Lak, Thua Thien – Hue, Tay Ninh and Binh Dinh provinces have been judged to have sufficient conditions, including IT infrastructure and other needed facilities, for the expansion, according to the Customs General Department's Reform and Modernisation Division.

The Ministry of Finance will oversee the expansion in cooperation with relevant agencies and provincial Customs departments.

The General Department of Customs (GDC) is preparing detailed plans to provide training for staff in provincial Customs Departments so they will have the skills to carry out the expansion next month.

The provincial Customs Departments are working with relevant departments and agencies to select firms in their localities that will make e-customs declarations this year onwards.

The expansion of e-customs procedures had been carried out in 13 provincial and municipal Customs Departments as of the end of last year.

Of these 13, seven have been able to expand e-customs procedures to all their sub-departments, according to the GDC.
With the addition of seven provinces, the GDC's target of having 18-20 provincial and municipal Customs Departments implementing the expansion of e-customs procedures by the end of this year will be met./.