Vietnam proactive in multilateral mechanisms hinh anh 1Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc (first row, centre) at the G20 Summit in Germany in 2017 (Photo: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) -
Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc’s attendance at the G20 Summit in Japan on June 28 - 29 aims to affirm the Party’s foreign policy of proactively participating in multilateral mechanisms to promote Vietnam as a reliable and responsible partner in the international community.

Vietnam was invited to attend the G20 Summit for the first time in 2010 as Chair of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

As host of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Forum 2017, Vietnam was invited to attend the G20 Summit and related activities in Germany.

At the event, PM Phuc suggested the G20 build a new global framework on promoting free trade and transfer of technology for digital products and services, and consider setting up a global startup forum to share innovation experience.

Many of Vietnam’s initiatives were recognised at the summit’s joint statement such as promoting international cooperation in dealing with global economic issues, inclusive and sustainable development, agriculture and water resources security and jobs in the digital economy.

Vietnam also coordinated to promote the common interests of developing countries in global trade and international investment, climate change adaptation and economic-financial governance reform.

This year’s G20 Summit will take place in Osaka on June 28 - 29.

The event will feature different themes including global economy, trade and investment, innovation, environment and energy, employment, women’s empowerment, sustainable development, and health. 

Established in 1999, the G20 consists of 19 individual countries plus the European Union, accounting for two-thirds of the world population, 90 percent of the global GDP and 80 percent of the world trade.

The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Republic of Korea, South Africa, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, the UK, and the US.-VNA