The Vietnamese National Assembly (NA) will do its utmost to strengthen Vietnam–Russia relations, cultivating greater standing in the Asia–Pacific region.

Vietnamese NA Chairman Nguyen Sinh Hung made the statement at talks with Chair of the Council of the Federation Assembly (Upper House) of the Russian Federation , Valentina Ivanovna Matviyenko, in Hanoi on November 14.

Hung affirmed that Vietnam persistently purses its policy to increase growth quality, reform State-owned enterprises and encourage the participation of all economic sectors.

Vietnam upholds its foreign policy of independence, self-control, peace, cooperation and development while increasing multilateral and diverse relations, active and proactive global integration, and acting as a friend, a reliable partner and responsible member in the international community, Hung said.

He also suggested the two sides continue to exchange delegations of all levels and diversify cooperation channels between the two legislative bodies, ministries and departments.

Matviyenko asked the two legislative bodies to work closely to promote and supervise bilateral cooperation projects as well as share experiences in lawmaking and administrative reforms, and support each other at international parliamentary forums.

The two legislatures also need to support the signing of bilateral trade agreements that will make it easier for economic cooperation. Additionally, Vietnam and Russia should reinforce cooperation in education and training to ceaselessly foster the two peoples’ ties.

After the talks, both host and guest signed a cooperation agreement between the Vietnamese NA and the Council of the Federation Assembly of Russia, which is expected to serve as an important foundation in deepening bilateral cooperation in a more effective and practical manner.

Following the signing ceremony, Matviyenko presented an insignia to Vietnamese NA Deputy Chairman Uong Chu Luu in recognition of his contributions to the cause of parliamentary development. A number of senior Vietnamese officials also received certificates of merit from the Chair of the Inter-parliamentary Assembly of the Commonwealth of Independent States.-VNA