The Presidential Office announced four new Laws and one Ordinance at a press briefing in Hanoi on July 5.

They include the Laws on Anti-Terrorism, Science and Technology, Natural Disaster Prevention and Control, and National Defence and Security Education, and the Ordinance on amendments and supplements to a number of articles of the Ordinance on Foreign Exchange.

Taking effect on October 1, 2013, the Law on Anti-Terrorism includes eight chapters and 51 articles which stipulate regulations, policies, measures and anti-terrorism forces, as well as international cooperation and responsibilities of organisations and individuals in the fight against terrorism.

Accordingly, the Anti-Terrorism Steering Board will be established at national, ministry and provincial levels. The anti-terrorism force groups agencies under the Ministry of Public Security and the Ministry of National Defence.

In the event of a terrorist attack, multiple forces will be mobilised with police and military units playing a key role.

The Law on Science and Technology, meanwhile, lays down incentives in the use of human resources, including talents at home and abroad as well as foreign experts in this field.

It will come into force on January 1, 2014.-VNA