Over 2,100 poor communes listed in Programme 135 for 2017-2020 hinh anh 1A communal house in Nghe An province built from source of Programme 135 (Source: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) – The Prime Minister has approved a list of 2,139 extremely disadvantaged and border communes in 46 provinces nationwide eligible for Programme 135 in the period of 2017-2020.

Of those, 2,103 communes of 44 provinces will receive investment sourced from State budget, while the other 36 in Quang Ninh and Khanh Hoa provinces will be supported with local budgets.

Cao Bang tops the list with 156 disadvantaged communes, followed by Ha Giang (156 communes), Lang Son (133 communes), Son La (118), Lao Cai (104), Dien Bien (103), Thanh Hoa (100) and Hoa Binh (99).

The Prime Minister’s Decision 204/QD-TTg on the list of disadvantaged communes included in Programme 135 in 2016 expired on June 20.-VNA

The Government’s Programme 135, launched in 1999 under the Prime Minister’s Decision 135/1998/QD-TTg on July 31, 1998, aims to improve living conditions for rural residents with a particular focus on ethnic minority communities.-VNA